Strobist – DIY Beauty Dish (Part 2)

Posted: September 2, 2009 in Strobist
Tags: , , , ,

(part 2, Strobist – DIY Beauty Dish)

This is a follow up from the previous post (part 1 Strobist – DIY Beauty Dish). For today, my apology as we do not have any volunteer model, so end up a piece of craft has been borrowed from my wife in this experiment.

All shots taken using Nikon D5000, 35mm f1.8 lens. I tried to use similar speed & aperture for all shots otherwise stated.

flash upwards = Bounce light + Box Diffuser (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

bouceNboxD

flash upwards = Bounce light + Built in Diffuser (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

bouceNbuilt_inD

direct flash with a Beauty Dish (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

direct_Bdish

direct flash with a Beauty Dish + Box Diffuser (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

direct_Bdish_N_boxD

direct flash with a Beauty Dish with adjustment made to extend the distance between reflector and flash head (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

direct_Bdish_longdistance_Reflector

direct flash with a Beauty Dish with adjustment made to shorten the distance between reflector flash head (35mm lens) Nissin Di622

direct_Bdish_shortdistance_Reflector

Summary:

Beauty Dish with longer distance between the flash head & reflector provide more light to the object, the difference seems to be in the centre of focus, thus further research is needed to confirm this. Beauty Dish work well compare to bouce light with or without a diffuser where the shadow are less prominent & more diffused.

Stayed tune for my next experiment…

Share/Save/Bookmark

Comments
  1. Susan says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://carusbcharger.com

    • chriscctan says:

      Susan, thanks for your comments. I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed reading my blog! and i will work harder to give my readers more great materials to read about….thank! 🙂

  2. Kelli Garner says:

    Really nice posts. I will be checking back here regularly.

Leave a Reply

