Painting with light ??!!

Posted: August 27, 2009 in Painting With Light
Tags: , , ,

Finally painting with light!!! LOL. Yes, had my camera set up on a tripod, with no light, the only light was from the torchlight.

I did a couple of shots to understand the correct setting and apparently a larger aperture (F11 & above) is the key to capturing this the way i intended. Photo taken at smaller aperture (f3.5~f8) allow too much light into the camera and tend to let the camera capture more of the surrounding. Since I prefer a darker surrounding, adjusting the aperture to minimum is the answer.

paintingwithlight

If you look carefully, you can see my face in the middle. The word I was trying to write is “I Lov U’

Taken using my Nikon D5000 18-55mm f3.5-5.6

And just to let you see what & how creative this set of technique can be, check out the video below, you will love it!

Share/Save/Bookmark

Comments
  1. sarah says:

    awesome light painting! I just turned my passion into my full time job and I am interested in light painting. Can you tell me the exact settings you had your camera on? I have a D5000 too 🙂 thanks…..

    • chriscctan says:

      Sarah, thanks for your comment and sorry to reply late.
      the photo was taken at f11 with the speed of (B) and time it for 16s. the only visible light in the room was a little lamp on the back of the camera. You might want to experience with different seconds to get different effect. In the blog, i had also explained by i used f11 and not f3.5.
      hoped it work for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

