Photoshop tutorial-Lomography

Posted: August 11, 2009 in Photoshop
Tags: , , ,

Finally, another tutorial that you are waiting for. I had written about lomography & its definition before in the past. And in this post, you learn steps by steps how to create this effect using photoshop and not on a lomo camera.

Hoped you like it.

1. OK First, lets open up a New image
lomo_b4
2. Create a new layer. Use the Lasso tool and create an oval selection in the new layer.
3. Inverse the selection (Shift+Ctrl+I).
4. Press Shift+Backspace to open the Fill tool. In the Fill tool, set the contents to USE: Black.

lomo1

5.  Next, do the Deselect (Ctrl+D).
6. Open the Gaussian Blur filter tool, adjust the Radius to blur the edges. Then set the opacity around 70%-80% will produce a good results.

lomo2

7. Next, we will play with the colour. Lomography is all about the colour. We will do this by making changes to each colour channels.

lomo3

8. Go to Channel Pallet, select the RED channel. With the red channel selected, use the Brightness/Contrast tool  and increase the contrast. The higher you set the contrast, the stronger the color effect will be. One tip to share, by increasing the contrast by 40-50 produced the most best results.

9. Now select the green channel and use the Brightness/Contrast tool to increase the contrast by the same amount you did in the previous step.

lomo4

10. Lastly, select back the RGB channel……easy as 1 2 3….:)

lomo_after

Below : before the post processing.

lomo_b4

Share/Save/Bookmark

Comments
  1. Naoko says:

    Great post, I just started to learn how to use Photoshop a couple weeks ago. I still have alot to learn.

    • chriscctan says:

      Naoko-san, thank you for the visit and comment! I like your blog, full of useful recipes 🙂 If you need my help with Photoshop, drop me a message and I will try to answer that for you 🙂 Have fun blogging!!

  2. Felisa Daskeo says:

    HI, this is a great site. I like it.

  3. Adrie says:

    Very informative post..!
    I’m waiting for the next tutorial my friend..

  4. I visit to your blog and I have camera lomography. your blog is good for me.

  5. karenstuebing says:

    Great tutorial. I tried another one to create a Lomo effect and it was much more complicated and did not have as good as results. The colors were not as vibrant.

    Before:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/karenstuebing/4266672096/

    After:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/karenstuebing/4276413950/

Leave a Reply

