Photoshop tutorial -Two Color Technicolor

Posted: August 6, 2009 in Photoshop
Tags: , , , ,

You might have seen this type of image before and wandering how to do that. Today, let me show you how, they are very easy and simple to do. This is how

First, open an image. Add a Channel Mixer adjustment layer

2color_before

We will be using the Channel Mixer tool to simulate the red and green color space used in the two-color Technicolor system. And to remove blue from the blue channel.

Picture1

Set the value of Blue to 0% and Green to 100% in Blue Output Channel. Wallah!! We’re done creating the two-color technicolor effect.

To add more realism to the effect, we’ll add a color bleed effect so that the colors look fuzzy. To do this, we’ll apply the Gaussian Blur filter and blend it so that it only affects the color and on the luminosity.

Picture2

Select the Background layer and duplicate the layer, change the blend mode of the new layer to Color. This blend mode makes the layer only affect the color.

In Photoshop, Choose Filter , select  Blur, follow by Gaussian Blur. Adjust the Radius setting to your liking.

And here you have it – the final results

2color_after

Comments
  1. ubuntusl says:

    Hey buddy you have a very nice blog.

  2. very informative blog!I’m trying to learn about photography too! I’ll definitely follow follow your blog.

    • chriscctan says:

      Hi, thank you for visiting my blog. Free feel to comment so I can improve myself and my blog. I am glad you like it as I will put up more photoshop tutorial when i have the chance.

  3. work at home says:

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  4. Excellent site, keep up the good work

  5. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  6. Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  7. Erik says:

    Excellent. Too many tutorials take 15 steps to accomplish what can be done in less than half.

  8. AMIN says:

    nice info….,

  9. […] zwar nah an Technicolor ran kommt aber eben doch nicht das Gleiche ist. Ich habe zwar hier einen Link, leider ist der Autor nicht der begabteste Schreiber, denn den letzten und entscheidenden Schritt […]

Leave a Reply

